State representative Scott Fitzpatrick has been named the next state treasurer.

Fitzpatrick was the House Budget Chairman.

Fitzpatrick lives in Cassville.

He serves Barry County and parts of Stone and Lawrence counties.

Fitzpatrick was first elected to the House at the age of 25.

He’ll replace Eric Schmitt as treasurer in January.

Governor Parson named Schmitt the next attorney general after Josh Hawley was elected to the US Senate.

Original Story:

Governor Parson plans to announce his pick this afternoon for the next state treasurer.

Eric Schmitt was elected Missouri Treasurer in 2016.

But Parson named him the next attorney general after Josh Hawley defeated Claire McCaskill in November.

Schmitt will leave his job as treasurer in January.