Monett Cubs recognized at Capitol for winning state football title

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (KTTS) - The 2016 football season may be over but the Monett Cubs are still finishing their victory lap to start off 2017.

The Cubs won their first state title since 1977 back in November after a fourth quarter surge gave them a 27-18 victory over Maryville in Class 3 Missouri State High School Activities Association Show-Me Bowl at Plaster Stadium in Springfield.

Gallery: Monett wins state football championship

The team was invited for a special recognition at the Missouri State Capitol in Jefferson City on Tuesday.

Republican Representative Scott Fitzpatick from their home district recognized them on the floor of the House, according to Monett senior Mason Swearingen.   

Swearingen joined fellow senior teammates Alex Turner, Aiden Brown, Ian Meyer, Tommy Sangston, Michael Branch, Brody Crawford, and Kurran Bartkoski to receive the recognition. 

Head Coach Derrek Uhl and Defensive Coordinator Kyle Wood also made the trip to Jefferson City. 

Click here to see reaction photos from their state title win


Print this article Back to Top