Sierra Canyon Wins Bass Pro Tournament Of Champions

More than 10,700 fans packed into JQH Arena in Springfield Saturday to watch Sierra Canyon from Chatsworth, California beat Memphis East High School 75-59 to win the Bass Pro Tournament of Champions. 

The final night attendance of 10,729 was the largest crowd in tournament history. 

Sierra Canyon got 22 points and 16 rebounds from Cody Riley plus 18 points and 12 rebounds from Marvin Bagley III, the top ranked junior in the nation. 

Chandler Lawson's 21 points led the way for Memphis East, who drops to 14-3 overall. 

Sierra Canyon, who is now 15-1 on the season, held a slim 23-20 advantage at halftime, but lit up the scoreboard in the second half, scoring 22 points in the third quarter and 30 in the fourth. 

Bagley was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament. 

In the third place game, former tournament champion Montverde Academy from Florida defeated Findlay Prep from Las Vegas 79-65.

Montverde (14-2) held a 35-33 advantage at halftime, but extended the lead to double digits in the third quarter.

Rowan Barrett, the top ranked sophomore in the country,. scored 28 points and pulled down 13 rebounds. 

P.J. Washington was the top scorer for Findlay Prep (19-3) with 26 points. He had 11 rebounds. 

Lamine Diane added 22 points for Findlay in the loss. 

The two area teams in the tournament battled for seventh place and the Kickapoo Chiefs pulled out the win in the final minute, beating Republic 64-61. 

The Chiefs, who held a 35-22 lead at halftime, built a 12 point advantage when Jared Ridder hit a layup with 6:03 left in regulation. 

But the Tigers fought back, and when Ty Stevens drained a three pointer with 1:31 remaining, Republic had pulled within two of the lead, 59-57. 

Cameron Davis hit two big free throws for the Chiefs with 38 seconds left to make it a two possession game, 61-57, then Corey Dye added another free throw with 18 seconds on the clock to put his team ahead by five. 

Republic's Treyon Rackley got a layup for Republic with 11 seconds remaining, cutting the lead to 62-59. 

One second later, Ridder's free throw got it back to two possessions, 63-59, but Stevens was fouled in the act of shooting a three pointer with five seconds on the clock. 

Stevens made his first two shots from the line to pull the Tigers within two, 63-61, but missed his third toss. 

Davis was fouled and went to theline for Kickapoo, missing his first shot and making his second. 

Republic needed a three to tie and force overtime, and got a good look from the top of the key as Rackley put up a shot that just missed off the rim. 

The Chiefs improve to 11-4 on the season, while Republic, who lost all three games in the tournament, drops to 11-5. 

Greenforest Christian Academy from Decatur, Georgia won the consolation final over Madison Prep Academy out of Baton Rouge, Louisiana 53-41.

Abayomi Lyiola and Justin Forrest scored eight points each to lead Greenforest, who went ahead 27-21 at halftime and never looked back. 

Josh Anderson's 17 points were tops for Madison Prep. 

Here are the scores from Saturday's final round at the 33rd Bass Pro Tournament of Champions:

7th Place Game:

Final: Kickapoo 64, Republic 61

Consolation Final:

Final: Greenforest Christian Academy (Decatur, GA) 53 , Madison Prep Academy (Baton Rouge, LA) 41

Great Southern Bank Dunk Contest 6:00 p.m. 

Winner: Josh LeBlanc, 6-6 junior from Madison Prep Academy

Third Place Game:

Final: Montverde Academy (Montverde, FL) 79, Findlay Prep (Las Vegas, NV) 65

Championship Game:

Final: Sierra Canyon (Chatsworth, CA) 75, Memphis East High School (Memphis, TN) 59

All Tournament Team:

Ty Stevens---Republic 

Jared Ridder---Kickapoo

Josh LeBlanc---Madison Prep

Ikey Obiagu---Greenforest

Lamine Diane---Findlay Prep

R.J. Barrett---Montverde Academy

Andrew Nembhard---Montverde Academy

Remy Martin---Sierra Canyon

Cody Riley---Sierra Canyon 

Alex Lomax---Memphis East 

Chandler Lawson---Memphis East 

Most Valuable Player:

Marvin Bagley III---Sierra Canyon

Dr. Edsel Matthews Team Sportsmanship Award: 

Republic High School

Father John Savage Award:

Alex Lomax---Memphis East 


Print this article Back to Top